Trinity College Dublin

Skip to main content.

Top Level TCD Links

Untitled Document

School of Psychology Research

The School of Psychology organizes most of its research activities thematically through its participation in several research institutes and centres.

Trinity College Institute of Neuroscience

TCIN is an interdisciplinary research institute with participation from a wide range of disciplines including psychology, physiology, biochemistry, engineering, psychiatry and genetics, among others. Its research ranges ‘from molecules to mind’  with a focus on cognition and behavior, neuropsychiatric disorders, and neurodegeneration. Psychology academic staff associated with the institute include Shane O’Mara (director and co-founder), Ruth Byrne (deputy director), Ian Robertson (co-founder and former director), Richard Carson, Fiona Newell, Redmond O’Connell, Paul Dockree, Clare Kelly.

Children’s Research Centre

The centre is a joint initiative of psychology and social work and policy. It undertakes multi-disciplinary policy and practice-relevant research into the lives of children and young people and the contexts in which they live their lives. Psychology academic staff associated with the centre include Elizabeth Nixon and Lorraine Swords.

Centre for Global Health

The centre has participating academic staff from medicine, nursing and psychology. Its research engages with third-level, civil society, government, private sector and United Nations partners in 40 countries to promote health, well-being, opportunity and social justice. Psychology academic staff associated with the centre include Malcolm Maclachlan (director) and Freqerique Vallieres.

Centre for Innovative Human Systems

The centre has multidisciplinary academic, industry and service partners. It aims to improve outcomes and reduce risk in critical systems – such as transport, manufacturing, health and other services - through innovative system design and organizational change. Psychology academic staff associated with the centre include Nick McDonald (founder and director) and Sam Cromie.

Centre for Psychological Health

The centre brings together a critical service-focused research capacity to develop, implement and evaluate psychological interventions to enhance health and well-being.  Psychology academic staff associated with the centre include David Hevey (founder and director), Charlotte Wilson, Mary Creaner, Maeve Bracken, John Davenport, Barbara Hannigan, John O’Connor, Kevin Tierney, Ladislav Timulak, Mathew McCauley, Olive Healy.

Further information on research in the School, including information on publications and grants, can be found on each individual academic’s profile on the staff page. The School holds a regular research seminar series.

Last updated 20 October 2016 School of Psychology (Email).